A Joint Meeting of the Albemarle County School Board and local legislators was held September 12, 2017 at 11:30 a.m., Albemarle County Office Building, Room 241, 401 McIntire Road, Charlottesville, VA 22902

Albemarle County School Board Members Present: Mr. Stephen Koleszar; Mr. Jonno Alcaro; Mr. Jason Buyaki; Mr. Graham Paige, and Dr. Kate Acuff.

Albemarle County School Board Members Absent: Mrs. Pamela Moynihan and Mr. David Oberg.

Legislators Present: Delegate Rob Bell; Ms. Jordan Hargrave, legislative aide for Delegate Rob Bell. Delegate David Toscano; Ms. Jane Dittmar, chief of staff for Delegate Toscano; Senator Creigh Deeds; Ms. Tracy Eppard, legislative aide for Senator Deeds; Judy Wyatt, legislative aide for Delegate Steve Landes; and Ms. Cassie Horn, legislative aide for Senator Bryce Reeves.

Staff Present: Dr. Pamela Moran, Superintendent; Dr. Matthew Haas, Deputy Superintendent; Mr. Dean Tistadt, Chief Operating Officer; Ms. Amanda Farley, Senior Assistant County Attorney; Mr. Jackson Zimmermann, Executive Director of Fiscal Services; Ms. Jennifer Johnston, Clerk of the School Board; and Mr. Tim Shea, Legislative Assistant and Public Affairs Officer.

Call to Order

At 11:47 a.m., Dr. Acuff called the meeting of the Albemarle County School Board to order.

Legislative Issues/Priorities.

2017 Legislative priorities, positions and policy statements identified and discussed included: increased funding for public education; high school redesign; assessment and accreditation reform; afterschool program regulation; broadband infrastructure; charter schools; fair and equitable composite index; school bus video-monitoring systems; special education; teacher licensure; and virtual learning.

Adjournment.

At 12:47 p.m., hearing no objections, Dr. Acuff adjourned the meeting of the Albemarle County School Board.

Chairman

Clerk